The Playlist

“Only One” – Kanye West & Paul McCartney

I am surprised by how much I love this new track by Kanye. True, I was expecting to actually hear Paul, but apparently he just co-wrote the song. Which is probably why I love it, particularly the melody. It’s sweet and poignant in its stark simplicity, and the lyrics are free of the arrogance usually found in Kanye’s music. It’s about his mother who passed away so it’s quite heartbreaking.

I’m so used to hating Kanye (or at least dismissing him) that this is quite a shock to me. So basically all I need to not hate him is a dose of Paul.

Have a listen here.

 

Leave a comment

